Posted by: reddiva | November 6, 2009

Who Does Your Makeup?


Palin to speak at Gridiron dinner

Former Alaska Gov. Sarah Palin will be the Republican speaker at the Gridiron Club’s Winter Dinner on Dec. 5, the club announced Friday.”

You know what I thought instantly, don’t you?  Uh-oh… they’re doing it to her again.  They will sell hundreds of tickets for this event and then claim that Sarah told them at the last minute she could not or would not be there.  This kind of thing has happened entirely too often and it seems to me that it happens consistently to Sarah.

The bottom line is – she never confirmed those other events in the first place.  Why should they tell anyone Sarah will not really be there?  Sells tickets, right?

Then this caught my eye:

“Meg Stapleton, a spokeswoman for Palin, confirmed that Palin planned to address the dinner in an e-mail to POLITICO: “The Governor was honored to accept the invitation.”

Way to go Meg!  I’m so excited that this is not going to be another “smear Sarah” campaign.  My excitement soon changed to amazement.  Who decides who speaks at these things anyway?

I went straight from amazement to the floor with laughter.

“Also speaking at the dinner will be Rep. Barney Frank (D-Mass.), whom the club invited to represent his party at the event.”

Can you see it now?  “Sit down, Sarah.  You neglected to get the gentleman from your side to yield you the minutes to speak.”

Or maybe Frank will invoke the right to call for a yea or nay vote.  Will Murtha be there?

Perhaps he will use one of his other famous quotes:

  • July 31, 2009 – Corporate and Financial Institution Compensation Fairness Act of 2009

“No. I tell you, to the gentleman from California, he’s going to have to speed up. I’m not going to slow down. But if he waits a couple of days, there’s a very competent transcriber here. He’ll be able to read it, and maybe we can even get it put into large type for the gentleman from California.”

  • July 23, 2009 – Transportation, Housing and Urban Development, and Related Agencies Appropriations Act, 2010

“Would the gentleman yield? He wouldn’t be in charge of the other one. You and I can work it out. So come to me about Wall Street and we’ll make a deal.”

  • June 24, 2009 – Providing for Consideration of H.R. 2647, National Defense Authorization Act for Fiscal Year 2010

“I will acknowledge that. I was in error, and I apologize. It had been reported to me that there were votes against it, so I apparently got bad information. And I thank the gentleman for that futile gesture on my behalf.”

  • January 6, 2009 – Rules of The House

“The gentleman from Wisconsin said, why will the majority not in some instances agree with the minority? That’s the problem. We are talking about cases where we in the majority have tried to agree with the minority, and they would not be agreed with. They would not take yes for an answer.”

 

Maybe just this once, Representative Frank will ask the one question everyone knows he is dying to ask Sarah Palin:  “I love that shade of lipstick.  Who does your makeup?”

Categories

