Posted by: reddiva | March 22, 2010

FINALLY! A Great Idea!


I am ashamed of myself for not thinking about this sooner.  But a nice man named Mr. Vera did, and I thank him for it.  I also thank him for allowing me to publicize this.  I am printing this email exactly as I received it – I don’t want you to miss one thing!

I would make this suggestion to you.  If you send it to your governor, you’ll want to remove Governor Perry’s name from the body of the message.  I don’t think your governor would be impressed.

One more thing – why stop with your governor?  I’ve sent it to my Senators and my Congressman as well as the GOP Chair for my county Republican Party.  All I had to do was edit it just a little bit.

Sent: Monday, March 22, 2010 2:39 PM
Subject: Let’s Start Something BIG!!!!

After the primary elections earlier this month, I stayed for my precinct convention and introduced 11 resolutions for Texas GOP platform. This past Saturday I attended the State Senate District Convention (first time in my life I’ve gotten this involved–as an elected precinct delegate, no less). To my amazement, all 11 of my resolutions had made the cut and were voted to move on to the State GOP Convention in June. The key was that I sent all my resolutions to Tea Party members in many other precincts and asked them to propose the exact same resolutions in their precincts. It worked.

My most controversial resolutions were: 1) shut down the Department of Education and use the $160 Billion budget to pay down the debt; and 2) shut down the Department of Energy and use the $60 Billion to pay down the debt. Both resolutions are on their way up the chain of command for a shot at the Republican Party national platform.

Now I need your help to start something else. Last week 37 states announced that they were ready to file suit in federal court against the healthcare bill. Through a wonderful coincidence, we need fewer than 37 states to amend the constitution. [Depending on the method used, to pass a Constitutional amendment, we need only between 33 to 36 states to make the amendment part of the constitution.] With 37 states we could create a new amendment that ends once and for all the sloppy interpretation of the Tenth Amendment that’s allowed the federal government to take over more and more of our lives. We can push them way back to where the Founding Fathers thought they should stay in the first place.

This morning I sent an email to Governor Perry pointing out everything in the paragraph above and asking him to take the lead in getting things started for a constitutional amendment protecting once and for all states’ rights. If I’m the only one that does it, it’ll die. But (as I learned with the above resolutions) if many of us send the same message, we may light a fire.

Please go to http://governor.state.tx.us/contact/

Click on “I am registering my opinion.” Then click “submit.”

That takes you to the comment page. Once there fill in your name and contact information. Then copy and paste the following.

Governor Perry, last week 37 states announced that they were ready to file suit in federal court against the healthcare bill. Through a wonderful coincidence, we need fewer than 37 states to amend the constitution. With 37 states we could create a new amendment that ends once and for all the sloppy interpretation of the Tenth Amendment that’s allowed the federal government to take over more and more of our lives. We can push them way back to where the Founding Fathers thought they should stay in the first place.

If Texas takes the lead in this effort, we’ll get support from the conservative media. And I know that the many Tea Parties around the state and in other states will help you in any way possible. Please consider taking the leadership in this important initiative for our country. Your coming campaign will draw a strong contrast between you and Washington, D.C.  There could be no stronger demonstration of this difference than to have you leading freedom minded states in an effort to take back our precious states’ rights.

Regards,

THANKS FOR YOUR HELP. AND PLEASE SEND THIS ON TO OTHERS ON YOUR EMAIL LIST. LET’S SEE IF WE CAN GET SOME ACTION ON THIS QUICKLY.

Categories

