Posted by: reddiva | June 16, 2010

Not Retreating – Just Reloading


Many things have happened recently including many state primary wins and losses.  There are times when some of us ignore an event because it would be uncomfortable for the person involved if we should gloat in his or her error in judgment.  More of us should have kept quiet when it was such a personal error as the one made by Indiana 3rd District Congressman Mark Souder.  I chose to keep quiet then, and I am glad I did.

The candidate I had endorsed on April 10 did not win in the May 4 Primary in Indiana for U.S. Senate.

One Democratic Senator from Indiana, Evan Bayh, took the hint and is retiring.  There are several candidates hoping to take the people’s seat in the US Senate, but my pick, if I could vote in Indiana that is, would be Marlin Stutzman.  Some of the other Republican candidates have a larger political resume, but from the reading I have done, I believe Mr. Stutzman is closer to the heartbeat of the people.

Mr. Stutzman is not leading in the latest Rasmussen poll which is another reason I have thrown my support behind him.  That tells me the two leading candidates have better name recognition state-wide, but from what I read are not as solidly Conservative as I would prefer my candidate to be.  Please check each candidate out for yourself and make your own decision based on the facts – not on names alone.

Only weeks after the Primary, Congressman Souder announced his retirement leaving an empty seat Indiana citizens need to have filled.  This has prompted a Special Election which will be held on the same date as the General Election, November 2.

Enter Marlin Stutzman.  He announced his candidacy for the vacated seat  and won the support and nomination of the Indiana Republican Party.

Politico writer Alex Isenstadt recorded:

State Sen. Marlin Stutzman won the Republican nomination for the seat left vacant by former Rep. Mark Souder (R-Ind.), easily outpacing his rivals at a caucus of local party officials held in Columbia City on Saturday.

Stutzman will be the GOP nominee in both the House special and general election races for the 3rd District seat, which are to be held simultaneously on Nov. 2.

Mr. Stutzman’s likely Democratic opponent is former Fort Wayne City Councilman Tom Hayhurst.

He may have changed the office he is seeking, but he is still the candidate I would support.  It is my pleasure to endorse Indiana State Senator Marlin Stutzman for the U.S. House of Representatives from Indiana’s 3rd Congressional District.

I urge you to support Mr. Stutzman with your time, your voice and your donation to his campaign.

Responses

  1. I’m supporting Marlin, too. He’s going to be an awesome Congressman for the voters of IN-3!

    • Mr. Tracy,

      Thank you for taking the time to read and comment on this endorsement. If I could vote in Indiana CD3, you can be assured I would be voting for Mr. Stutzman. I supported him in his candidacy for the U.S. Senate, and I will support him now for the U.S. Congress.

      Red


Categories

